Going Across…

I have carved a boat out of strong wood,

The oars are made of oak.

The sails are canvas, strong and robust.

The mask is teak, weather resistant.

The standard is of silken cloth, stitched.

With love in prayers of hope.

Tomorrow, my boat shall take to water,

leaving the shores

traversing the sea

braving waves and storms.

My boat is small

the sea is vast

my boat is small

the sea is rough.

I pray

for the sea to be calm

the waves not come abashing.

I pray for a steady wind.

For my oars shall not break

The sails shall not tear

the mast shall not fall.

Dear Lord,

I only want to go across.

Hashim Yaacob, 1994. (poem)

Ex-Vice Chancellor University of Malaya.

Picked from Malay Literature, vol.16, no.1,2003, page 93.

Leave a Reply

